If I had no more internet…

I almost had no more internet last night! Check this out from this morning:

This is normally just grass – under our recyclables is leaf debris from the sewer! Our entire street was flooded, up to the house, all around the sides, all in the back, and all the way to the fire department you see in the back of the photo. We were lucky our power did not go out and our sump pump could handle all the water coming into the basement. I won’t show a pic of that, it’s a wreck. Nothing valuable was ruined though, so even though there is a big mess being cleaned up, nothing was really lost. The cats are all fine, we’re fine, Bubba dog is fine… we’re lucky!

Anyway! There is a contest sponsored by Mable’s Labels – they are looking for their new blogger, and will send her to the big BlogHer convention in NYC. They want to know what I would do if I lost all internet access forever, from an electrical storm. Well, last night this was almost a reality for me! Really, it seems everyone else but us lost power in my county. So what would I miss? How would I fill my time? They want to know about my passions in 300 words or less. Here goes:

Before I became pregnant I had things I loved, like my husband and my dog and my craftability… but something was lacking. There was a hole in my heart that I couldn’t fill no matter what I tried, or how busy I tried to stay. When my husband and I found out we were finally going to have a baby, the next 8 months went by so slowly, because I knew this was the missing piece. I felt like I was a little kid waiting for my birthday – it took forever! And then Noopy was 8 days LATE! The build up was drawn out, and suspenseful with PIH and a failed induction at 38 weeks. Going to 41w1d was horrible, but as soon as my OB pulled out my little boy, and he cried… I knew I had found my purpose in life. It was to be this little boy’s mother, and it is the thing I am MOST passionate about in the world. He makes me want to be the best person I can be, to set a good example for his life. All that matters is that we have this little man in our lives that needs protecting and shown how to be a good person. It doesn’t matter how dirty my house is or anything else, this little boy is the number one priority in my life. I even miss him when he is asleep, and will watch this video a few times to get my Noopy fix. I cherish every waking moment, and I can’t wait for what the future holds. Writing this, I’m tearing up thinking about how much my son means to me. He is the one thing I have an undying passion for, and I can’t imagine it ever flickering or changing.

I think it’s safe to say I wouldn’t miss a thing about the internet… except the chance to brag about my baby on a daily basis! In fact, I didn’t even mention the internet in my answer!! I had already forgotten about it!
Anyway, I’d love to win a PAID blogging job for a year. You know what I’d do with the money? Save it for our next house’s down payment, sign Noopy up for swimming, music, and Gymboree classes, and take a trip to visit family next fall (Mississippi and Ohio).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

