Happy Mother’s day, to all of you.

I have dedicated 24 hours of the day to my little son for all of his four months and 5 days. No wait, even longer… I was obsessed with him since April 17th, 2009, when I finally got a positive pregnancy test.

It hasn’t been easy, and there’s no medal for dealing with all the draining stuff, but there is Mother’s Day. I used to laugh about Mother’s Day, because my birthday is on the 13th and they’re usually very near each other. I would say, “Oh, I didn’t get you anything, because I’m your present!” My mom would laugh, and the couple times I would try and get her something, I’d get yelled at for spending money (and not in a “Oh, you shouldn’t have!”, but secretly pleased way. But now I laugh at my old self, it’s pretty true. John is my present. I love him so much.

But motherhood, it is hard work. And it’s not all warm fuzzy feelings all the time. Especially when your husband has weekly business trips that require overnight stays. I should be used to him being away, he was always gone when we were dating (on tour and stuff with his band). But I was in college then, and I really needed to be alone to study and stuff. Now, it’s hard. When Mike is away, it’s sad that I get to see all the cute stuff and just have to tell him what happened. And when John is crying most of the day because I had to take him alone to get his shots, it’s also really hard. I can’t just pass him off to anyone for a half hour, especially since none of our friends live that close (and are all busy anyway). I really admire all the single moms I know, you really are amazing people.

Mike let me sleep in a little while he and my morning person of a son had breakfast (apples for J, coffee for Mike), and watched Columbo (Mike is obsessed). LOL. Apparently my Noopy is becoming more vocal, I sort of couldn’t sleep because he was making these long and drawn out vowel sounds. It was cute, though. Then Mike brought John to me and I nursed him down for his nap. Mike then gave me a Mother’s Day present, and a homemade card (it’s a sock monkey card!!). What a perfect morning. We are taking the day off from church, I’m very sore today and I don’t want to overdo it. God understands. Only he knows what my fibromyalgia pain is like!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy Mother’s day, to all of you.

  1. I’m so glad you had a nice mother’s day!

    I can only imagine what it would be like for him to go away every week. šŸ˜¦

    My husband works a lot too and its so different now that there’s a little lady here. We just need them so much more so its more noticable when they’re gone. I give mad props to single parents too! Don’t know how they have the strength!

    Hope you’re feeling ok!

Leave a Reply

